Is there an example MVVM + AvalonDock application ?

Oct 9, 2009 at 8:59 PM

Is there an example MVVM + AvalonDock application ?

Oct 13, 2009 at 4:33 AM

I am in the process of writing one and should be releasing it shortly as open source.  Do you have any particular questions?

Oct 13, 2009 at 12:35 PM

Hi swhitlock,

I'd be interested in that example you're writing, specifically in relation to the Prism framework if thats where you're going with it. Im pretty new to MVVM, WPF and Prism so any starters would be much appreciated.

Until now the best thing I've found regarding this is the following on SO, although this might have more to do with Prism and AvalonDock than MVVM.

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/924074/prism2-region-adapter-for-avalondocks-documentpane-and-dockingpane

Cheers,

Dave

Oct 13, 2009 at 3:02 PM

I'm actually using MEF instead of Prism, though I'm sure most of the ideas would still apply.  I'll post back here when I have something to release.  It's pretty close.

Oct 14, 2009 at 3:51 PM

@swhitlock

I'm looking forward to this!

Oct 14, 2009 at 4:48 PM
Edited Oct 14, 2009 at 4:51 PM

Hi swhitlock,

I am just trying to get handle on avalondock with MVVM to evaluate if this feasible for professional grade application.
The documentation is almost no help, (the api doc just has method names but no documentation on what they actually do) whatever we have is only example scenarios and not practical situation. Like how easy would it be to manage children from the MainWindowViewModel which is ViewModel for avalonDock and how to delegate all events from avalondock view component to my ViewModel. Once it is in ViewModel it would be very easy I think.

So, not any particular issue/questions yet. But general reference application that can give me confidance that this will work with MVVM and will be not too much away from general design practices.

Oct 14, 2009 at 6:19 PM