document pane closing event in avalondock

Jun 30, 2008 at 2:58 AM
I am new to wpf and started using the avalon dock for one of my project. I dont see any events raised when a document is closed in the document pane. Any link or code sniplet will be very helps

thanks a lot for helping me
Jun 30, 2008 at 8:35 AM
Hi mehrajesh, you can use the Unload event from DocumentContent to be woke when a document content is closed. For DockableContent they are simply hidden, so you can monitor the DockableContent.State to know when the content is hidden by user (see how events are reported in the EventsLog pane).
Anyway a couple of events Closing/Closed should be useful and I'm planning to add them in next release.
Thanks to you!
Jun 30, 2008 at 10:16 AM
Hello adospace !

thanks for the reply, i m planning to add closing and closed events in the DocumentPane class and in the below method of the same class

public void ExecutedCloseCommand(object sender,
            ExecutedRoutedEventArgs e)

so that whenever a document is closed, a notification can be asked to save and cancel the same

do you think is it the right place to add the closed/closing event in the document pane

i am adding a usercontrol in a documentcontent and the documentcontent is added to the document pane.

Thanks for answering again.

Jun 30, 2008 at 2:43 PM
Sure that is the right place!
Just an hint, consider the option to derive your control from documentcontent instead of UserControl (which is simply a ContentContrl placeholder).

Jul 1, 2008 at 2:43 AM
Thanks a lot..

May i know when are you planning to release the next version, i m eagerly waiting for the release.
Aug 1, 2008 at 4:06 PM
I have been working on WPF for the last two weeks and I am using the AvalonDock library.